Unnamed27157503 10155314935706867 885556790 N

Sanctuary, nytt album, prequel

av yngve

Unnamed (1)Seattlebandet er snart klart med sitt nye "album".  Det er Century Media som formidler dette.

Inception kommer i handel 24. februar, og dette er "...the official prequel to 1988’s classic debut Refuge Denied."


Greia er at bandet oppdaget noe så fett som et knippe studioinnspillinger som har vært borte, og som "... guitarist Lenny Rutledge discovered recently and which were magically restored, remixed and remastered by Zeuss (Queensrÿche, Hatebreed)."

Hva i all verden liksom?!?! Hvor fett er ikke det?

Lenny Rutledge: "I found the masters in my barn. The second floor of the barn is on top of our current recording studio and is very rough and open to the elements. The ground level is where we recorded the bulk of The Year The Sun Died. We found the masters in an unknown box in the barn, full of water and just wasting away."

Zeuss: "I got a call one day and Lenny said that he had discovered these tapes and had them transferred to digital. I was in the area and stopped over to check it out. The recordings were still in decent shape. We agreed that we wanted it to sound as good as possible without taking away from the original vibe and vision of what the band had back then. After a year of mixing on and off we were able to resurrect these original demos. I hope everyone enjoys these recordings as much as I did working on them especially being a huge fan myself."

Recorded in March of 1986 (Soldiers Of Steel, Battle Angels) at Triad Studios in Redmond, Washington and Studio One in White Center between April and July 1986, Inception offers such previously unreleased highlights as Dream of The Incubus and I Am Insane as well as several classic Refuge Denied songs that are burning with fervour and intensity."

I tillegg til Ed Repka-coveret, vil utgivelsen være fylt til randen av ":.. tons of rare photos, flyers, early art designs, sketches plus detailed liner notes allowing you to delve deep into Sanctuary history."

Skiva kommer som gatefold 180-grams på svart og farget vinyl, lp-sized booklet, poster, og skiva i cd-versjon som bonus. En limited cd-versjon vil foreligge, og alt er selvsagt også noter for digital release.

Lenny: "For me personally, I just wanted fans to be able to hear proper versions of the demos. They had a certain energy that was captured during the early days, maybe even more so than Refuge Denied. It’s no secret that you can find these on the internet but the quality is horrible. I think most people are under the impression that these are remastered or re-recorded versions of Refuge…, but this is all a prequel!"

Festivaler og konsert er booket for 2017, om de dukker opp i Norge vet jeg ikke, men listen jeg hadde tilgjengelig var blottet for datoer her til lands - inntil videre.


  1. Dream Of The Incubus
  2.  Die For My Sins
  3.  Soldiers Of Steel
  4.  Death Rider / Third War
  5.  White Rabbit (Jefferson Airplane cover)
  6.  Ascension To Destiny
  7.  Battle Angels
  8.  I Am Insane
  9.  Veil Of Disguise